mamatrauma

ER nurse and resident knitwit

In the swing of things

with one comment

I just finished working 5 shifts in a row and am beginning to feel like a real ER nurse now. I still think I need a sign that says “new nurse” on my forehead though.  Now that I have been in the department for all these months, and because I am older, the docs forget and think I am one of the nurses with 30yrs experience!  They expect me to be familiar with many more diagnoses and more efficient in getting things done for my patients.  It is nice however, that they now come to me about the patients instead of my preceptor. I am starting to develop relationships with them and gain their trust to be their eyes and ears with the patients.  I am beginning to trust my own instincts  a little more too. I had a 1 yr old patient this week that was pretty sick, he just LOOKED sick from the moment I laid eyes on him and it turned out to be true, his WBC count was way elevated and he was dehydrated. He wouldn’t drink anything and he just had this glassy eyed look about him.  We ended up transferring him to Children’s Hospital.

There was another patient I had last week that was confused and altered from alcohol encephalopathy. She was completely disassociated from reality and fearful. Her skin had a yellow cast to it, her sclera were definitely yellow. She was tremulous too and at one point seemed like she was having a seizure but did not lose bladder or bowel control and kept talking through it. The doctor wanted to just pump her up with ativan, he thought she was going through alcohol withdrawal.  I talked to her sister who had been caring for her, and was convinced that she was  not drinking.  She didn’t smell like it ( I can recognize that smell now) or act like it.  Her blood alcohol level came back undetectable and her ammonia level was elevated.  What she really needed was thiamine and lactulose. We gave her a banana bag without the thiamine, but pushed the thiamine first to get it into her system quickly.  We gave her a lactulose enema because she had been vomiting and could not take oral meds.  Then I had to drop and NG tube to suction out her stomach because she started to vomit blood. Because of her confusion, everything scared her, and she kept trying to pull her IV out and get out of the bed. We ended up having to use soft restraints to keep her tubes in and eventually admitted her to ICU.

I rarely get to know how my patients do after they are admitted to the floor from the ED. I often wonder what happens to them and how many of them make it home. I think at the end of everyone’s medical record there should be a “what happened later” section like in the movies when they tell you “so and so grew up to be a teacher and someone else ended up being a cop and tracking down drug dealers because of his experience from being one.  I wonder if my patients go home and back to their old habits after their health scare or do they make even just a few changes like eating less salt or becoming sober, or becoming consistent with always using a barrier birth control method if they are going to have many partners.  But, alas, I don’t get to know, I can only hope and have faith.

Written by knitwitmama

February 22, 2010 at 11:15 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] is what keeps me going. That and the faith that I am having an impact on my patients now that I am In the swing of things as mamatrauma in my dream job in the ER.  I hope I can keep that going as the years go […]


Leave a Reply

