mamatrauma

ER nurse and resident knitwit

Welcome back

with one comment

I have not posted for almost 4 years! What happened? Life happened and it still goes on.  I am still an ER nurse, still working in my local county hospital ER, but I picked up a second job at a large urban level 1 trauma center.  It has been a goal to work in a trauma center and be in the middle of the chaos and excitement. I started there 18 months ago and am now fully trained to take care of whatever patient comes in the door. I love, Love, LOVE my job.  I work with great staff of nurses and docs, including med students, interns and residents. I learn from just standing in their midst, although we rarely just stand around. This ER is busy, I work night shift there and it gets crazy with crashes, falls, gunshots and stabbings; not to leave out the regulars, drunks and psych cases. Never boring.  My other job now feels like a walk in the park.

As for the other job, I have moved from being the new grad to teaching the new grads. I am now precepting my fourth new nurse. I really like teaching. Although we don’t get compensated at this facility for it, I feel like I get to train someone to be the kind of coworker I want to work with. I work very hard to encourage them and foster a helpful collaborative attitude.

I have a few new goals, first to pass the CEN. The certification exam for Emergency Nursing.  I also want to get beck to regular blogging. I find that writing helps me sort out my thinking and my emotions. I am usually exhausted when I come home from work, then by the time I have recovered, I have forgotten details about what I want to blog about or I am headed right back in to another shift. Any suggestion from you readers about how to be better at this?

Until next time…

Written by knitwitmama

July 21, 2014 at 12:13 pm

Posted in trauma nursing

Tagged with , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Mamatrauma-

    Welcome back!! You have been missed.

    Charlene McHugh

    July 22, 2014 at 3:12 pm


Leave a Reply

